2.7.2014: Kayaking on river Slaney (Kajaking im Fluss Slaney)

We had booked nice weather with the language centre – at least for the first days of our stay – and that is what we got another time!! Luckily for us as kayaking in the rain or with stormy weather would not have happened or simply not been so nice!

Jim took us to the kayaking centre at River Slaney and our adventure could begin:

1)   we were given wetsuits, helmets and life jackets

2)   we were given short instructions

and then…

3)   off we went in pairs along the river Slaney!!!

We did not just try to paddle in a certain rhythm, but we also had to play games on our boats. For example, we had to change position, change boats, change partners – and all that without losing our balance and falling into the water!!! Some of us did, however, deliberately decide to get in close contact with the element of water!!

At the end of this experience we were defintely better at team work, exhausted and … WET!!

Students’ comments

Sofia Hinteregger

This morning I got up at 7.30. I went to the kitchen to have breakfast as our dog ran up to me and jumped on my thighs. I started shouting because he had actually given me a fright! But then the dog sat down and licked my feet. He is really very funny!!

After breakfast we drove to school by bus as usual. I got off and went straight to the wonderful horses behind our school.

In the afternoon we went kayaking. It was so funny!! Federica and I were on the boat together. She always wanted to jump into the water, but when she tried to do so, the boat capsized and … I was in the water and she still in it! It was really funny.

 

Elisa Lechner

When I woke up in the morning I felt sick. I asked my host mother what I should do and she suggested I should stay at home. So I went back to bed. I slept for some hours and felt much better afterwards. My host mum was very caring and looked after me.

I read some jokes on my mobile and she looked in on me and brought me something to eat and drink. She was really very nice.

 

Angelica Schatzer

Today we went kayaking on river Slaney. It was SOOOO funny!! I was on the boat with Michelle. When we were in the middle of the river, we fell off the boat. Fortunately, the water was not really cold and Raphael jumped into the river to save us!

We often fell into the water, but we LOVED kayaking!!

Ein Gedanke zu “2.7.2014: Kayaking on river Slaney (Kajaking im Fluss Slaney)

  1. Hello everyone,

    I really enjoy reading your blog entries and comments about your adventurous outdoor activities in Ireland. It seems to me that some of you love getting wet. Fortunately, there is a brave rescuer called Raphael who takes risks to save your lives, girls. Well done, Raphael.
    Elisa, I’m glad to hear that you feel better now.
    I wish you all an amazing time and some more unforgettable experiences.
    I’m looking forward to reading about your next adventures.

    Take care,

    Elfi Troi

Hinterlasse einen Kommentar